Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Virani Family Foundation
Virani Family Foundation reported $38.3 million in revenue and $26,006 in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $91.16 went to program services, $8.84 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 95.9% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $26,006For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $38MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 91.2% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 8.8% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 95.9% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 27,923.8 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense3 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 63
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Virani Family Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Virani Family Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Virani Family Foundation spent in 2024, $91.16 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Associated Jewish Charities of BaltimoreBaltimore, MD · revenue $38M · programs 95.9% · FY2025
- Community Foundation of Northern NevadaReno, NV · revenue $38M · programs 92.0% · 2024
- Community Foundation of Northeast IowaCedar Falls, IA · revenue $38M · programs 81.9% · 2025
- Jgive-Friends of Asor Fund USAIsrael, · revenue $38M · programs 98.7% · 2024
- Jewish Federation of Greater Metrowest NjWhippany, NJ · revenue $38M · programs 81.5% · FY2025
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Texas
Questions people ask
How much of Virani Family Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Virani Family Foundation reported that 91.2% of its $26,006 in expenses went to program services, 8.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Virani Family Foundation get its money?
Of $38.3 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 95.9% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Virani Family Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 86-2515859 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533189349311883 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443199349317454 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323199349321597 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 86-2515859: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.