Convivial Life
Convivial Life reported $27.0 million in revenue and $45.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $80.97 went to program services, $19.03 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.9% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $45MFor context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $27MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 81.0% | 87.5% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 19.0% | 10.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 2.1% | 17.0% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 96.9% | 66.2% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $300,863 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.57% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -6.8 | 10.0 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseConvivial Life is an organization that owns and operates continuing care facilities through life plan communities and/or senior housing communities for the elderly. The facilities and communities generally limit resident admission to those 62 and older. Convivial Life operates two facilities acquired during 2022: the cabana at jensen dunes, which has 126 assisted living and memory care units. Convivial jacaranda trace, which has 55 assisted living and memory care units and 248 independent living units
4 filings since FY2021 (10 mo.)
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 689
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| MILLERS COASTLINE CONSTRUCTION LLC Renovation contractor | $6,972,986 |
| LIFESTAR MANAGEMENT JACARANDA TRACE LLC Management of senior living operations | $887,393 |
| STATUS SOLUTIONS LLC It & emergency response systems | $652,903 |
| RLPS LLP Design & architectural services | $118,198 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Convivial Life's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Convivial Life, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Convivial Life spent in 2024, $80.97 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Lasell VillageAuburndale, MA · revenue $27M · programs 85.0% · FY2025
- Seniorcare of MontchaninHamilton, NJ · revenue $27M · programs 73.7% · 2023
- Centre CAREBellefonte, PA · revenue $27M · programs 91.6% · 2024
- People's Self Help Housing CorpSan Luis Obispo, CA · revenue $27M · programs 80.2% · FY2025
- 4000 Valley Square Inc. Dba Woodside Vill Wheatland TerrGrand Forks, ND · revenue $27M · programs 86.9% · FY2025
All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Florida
Questions people ask
How much of Convivial Life's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Convivial Life reported that 81.0% of its $45.4 million in expenses went to program services, 19.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Convivial Life get its money?
Of $27.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 2.1% came from contributions and grants and 96.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Convivial Life a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 86-2680259 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202640989349300534 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202501229349300410 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202420469349302992 · read the filing
- FY2021 (10 mo.): Form 990 for the 10-month short period ending December 31, 2021, object 202203149349300245 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 86-2680259: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.