Home › Arts, culture & humanities
Historic Haymarket Milwaukee
Historic Haymarket Milwaukee reported $75.7 million in revenue and $132.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.83 went to program services, $0.15 to management and general costs and $0.02 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.7% of the total. Government grants made up 84.0%. Revenue rose 300% between 2022 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $132MFor context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $76MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.8% | 78.5% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.2% | 13.6% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 6.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.10 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.7% | 57.5% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 84.0% | 1.7% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 20.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $385,706 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 2.03% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 2.3 | 36.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseIn May of 2025, HHM entered into a cooperation and transfer agreement with Wisconsin Museum of Nature and Culture, Inc. ("WMNC") . After the execution of the cooperation and transfer agreement, HHM's operations are limited to the raising of additional funds, collection of pledges, and transfer of funds collected to WMNC, which owns the museum property and will operate the museum upon completion of the museum building. HHM's primary sources of revenue are derived from contributions, pledges and government grants
4 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Largest outside contractors
2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| THINC DESIGN Construction services | $954,396 |
| Kubik Maltbie Inc Construction services | $953,963 |
| KAHLER SLATER INC Construction services | $660,234 |
| MC GROUP LLC Construction services | $223,330 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 9 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
20 private foundations reported grants to Historic Haymarket Milwaukee totaling $5.9M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Historic Haymarket Milwaukee's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Historic Haymarket Milwaukee, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Historic Haymarket Milwaukee spent in 2025, $99.83 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Museum of Flight FoundationSeattle, WA · revenue $76M · programs 79.0% · 2024
- Museum of the BibleOklahoma City, OK · revenue $79M · programs 74.6% · 2025
- Academy FoundationBeverly Hills, CA · revenue $76M · programs 98.7% · FY2025
- The Musical Arts AssociationCleveland, OH · revenue $79M · programs 80.7% · FY2025
- Pro PublicaNew York, NY · revenue $75M · programs 79.8% · 2025
All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Wisconsin
Questions people ask
How much of Historic Haymarket Milwaukee's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Historic Haymarket Milwaukee reported that 99.8% of its $132.1 million in expenses went to program services, 0.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Historic Haymarket Milwaukee get its money?
Of $75.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 99.7% came from contributions and grants (including 84.0% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Historic Haymarket Milwaukee a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 87-1376165 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202601409349300515 · read the filing · XML
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202521339349300932 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202432059349301408 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202331889349300418 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 87-1376165: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.