Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia

Charles Town, WV · EIN 87-2266946 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia reported $10.7 million in revenue and $8.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $75.40 went to program services, $24.60 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 89.1% of the total. Government grants made up 89.1%. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.2M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
75.4%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
24.6%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
89.1%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
89.1%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
10.9%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
1.313.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$6.2M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $9.5M

Our mission is to empower our students to be their best by enabling them to learn in ways that are right for them using innovative technology at home, at their proper level, and their own pace. Our faculty works with students to provide individualized learning plans focused on academic and personal growth. Upon enrollment, students are provided access to assessment to determine accurate placement. Ongoing evaluation allows teachers to closely monitor progress and determine if additional, small-group instruction is needed for students. This approach allows US to specifically and individually…

3 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$8.2M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$8.2M75.4%$861K—
FY2024 ⓘ$5.3M$5.6M100.0%−$1.7M—
FY2023 ⓘ$1.4M$2.7M100.0%−$1.3M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in West Virginia

Questions people ask

How much of Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia reported that 75.4% of its $8.2 million in expenses went to program services, 24.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia get its money?

Of $10.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 89.1% came from contributions and grants (including 89.1% from government grants) and 10.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Virtual Preparatory Academy of West Virginia a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 87-2266946 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611359349302111 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511279349302916 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441359349301624 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 87-2266946: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.