Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Justliving Communities Corp

Lincoln, MA · EIN 87-3705424 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Justliving Communities Corp reported $31.9 million in revenue and $51.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $97.14 went to program services, $2.86 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.6% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $52M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $32M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
97.1%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.9%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.6%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
96.6%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-14.710.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$47M expenses · 94.0% of program spending · revenue $29M

Justliving Communities Corp owns and operates a senior living community located in lincoln, massachusetts, known as the commons in lincoln (the community). The community is situated on a 30 acres campus consisting of 168 independent living units across two main apartment-style buildings and 38 cottages. The community also includes a health care facility consisting of a 40 unit assisted living facility, a 24 unit memory care facility, a 32 bed skilled nursing facility, and an assisted rehabilitation unit on site to provide the services of a continuing care retirement community. Eight of the…

$3.0M expenses · 6.0% of program spending · revenue $1.6M

Justliving Communities Corp owns and operates a senior living community located in wheaton, illinois, known as the wyndemere. The community is situated on a 25 acres campus consisting of 270 independent living units across an apartment-style building and 26 cottages. The community also includes a health care facility consisting of a 65 unit assisted living facility, a 12 unit memory care facility, a 56 bed skilled nursing facility, and an assisted rehabilitation unit on site to provide the services of a continuing care retirement community

2 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80M20232024$32M$52M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$32M$52M97.1%−$63M—
2023 ⓘ$24M$42M97.0%−$43M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
BENCHMARK SENIOR LIVING LLC
Management company
$1,263,146
BECHTEL FRANK ERICKSON ARCHITECTS
Architect design services
$790,960
PRKOS PROPERTY MANAGEMENT INC
Kitchen renovation
$427,766
ONE POINT PARTNERS LLC
Asset management and development advisor
$323,751
STANTEC CONSULTING SERVICES INC
Engineer/architect
$191,308

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 7 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Justliving Communities Corp's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Justliving Communities Corp, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts

Questions people ask

How much of Justliving Communities Corp's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Justliving Communities Corp reported that 97.1% of its $51.5 million in expenses went to program services, 2.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Justliving Communities Corp get its money?

Of $31.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.6% came from contributions and grants and 96.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Justliving Communities Corp a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 87-3705424 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543219349319534 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349316159 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 87-3705424: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.