Home › Food, agriculture & nutrition
Food for Education Foundation
Food for Education Foundation reported $74.9 million in revenue and $62.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $97.82 went to program services, $1.23 to management and general costs and $0.95 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.4% of the total. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $63MFor context, the median across 349 covered food, agriculture & nutrition charities: $94.56 programs, $3.12 management, $2.32 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $75MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 97.8% | 94.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.2% | 3.1% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 1.0% | 2.3% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.01 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 97.4% | 96.4% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 10.5% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $213,323 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 0.61% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 7.0 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseFood for Education Foundation Inc. supports School Feeding Program (SFP) activities - specifically with the goal of providing affordable, nutritious meals to students in public schools throughout Kenya and any other country within the continent of Africa. This work is accomplished by providing grants to organizations that are conducting that direct work in those countries. The grants provided by the organization are used to build kitchens, buy ingredients, prepare food, deliver and serve meals, conduct measurement and evaluation, develop technologies to make meal service more effective, as…
4 filings since FY2022 (6 mo.)
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 67
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| Ariel Philanthropy Consulting Corp Fundraising | $221,679 |
| Aequitas Global Communication services | $181,409 |
| Do Good CFO Financial Planning | $155,421 |
| Kairos and Tola Brand and PR | $147,719 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
4 private foundations reported grants to Food for Education Foundation totaling $813K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Food for Education Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Food for Education Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Food for Education Foundation spent in FY2025, $97.82 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Food Bank of Eastern MichiganFlint, MI · revenue $74M · programs 97.5% · FY2025
- Blue Ridge Area Food BankVerona, VA · revenue $75M · programs 94.5% · FY2025
- FoodlinkRochester, NY · revenue $72M · programs 94.7% · FY2025
- Regional Food Bank of Northeast FloridaJacksonville, FL · revenue $78M · programs 96.9% · 2025
- Second Harvest of South GeorgiaValdosta, GA · revenue $71M · programs 96.7% · 2024
All food, agriculture & nutrition charities · Largest charities in Delaware
Questions people ask
How much of Food for Education Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Food for Education Foundation reported that 97.8% of its $62.5 million in expenses went to program services, 1.2% to management and general and 1.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Food for Education Foundation get its money?
Of $74.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 97.4% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Food for Education Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 88-0664918 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600419349301860 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202540389349301709 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202400969349300020 · read the filing
- FY2022 (6 mo.): Form 990 for the 6-month short period ending June 30, 2022, object 202321369349300827 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 88-0664918: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.