Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center
Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center reported $10.8 million in revenue and $2.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2023. Of every $100 it spent, $98.53 went to program services, $1.47 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.4% of the total. Government grants made up 74.6%. Source: Form 990, 2023.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2023 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $2.0MFor context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2023 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2023 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.5% | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.5% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 98.4% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 74.6% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 53.5 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 12 of 12 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2023 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense1 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2023 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 12 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 67
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center spent in 2023, $98.53 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Northern Illinois Blood BankRockford, IL · revenue $11M · programs 86.4% · FY2025
- Athens Model Neighborhood Health CenterincAthens, GA · revenue $11M · programs 77.2% · FY2025
- Waverly CAREGladwyne, PA · revenue $11M · programs 86.1% · 2024
- Arh Advanced CAREHazard, KY · revenue $11M · programs 83.4% · FY2025
- Visiting Nurse Association of AlbanyAlbany, NY · revenue $11M · programs 87.1% · 2022
Questions people ask
How much of Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2023, Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center reported that 98.5% of its $2.0 million in expenses went to program services, 1.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center get its money?
Of $10.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2023, 98.4% came from contributions and grants (including 74.6% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Northeast Tennessee Regional Recovery Center a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 88-1596103 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202402059349300700 · read the filing · XML
All filings for EIN 88-1596103: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.