Charity Impact Media

Home › Civil rights, social action & advocacy

Our American Future Foundation

Washington, DC · EIN 88-4235954 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Our American Future Foundation reported $104.4 million in revenue and $105.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.73 went to program services, $0.27 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.6% of the total. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $105M

For context, the median across 132 covered civil rights, social action & advocacy charities: $84.11 programs, $11.40 management, $4.49 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $104M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 132 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.7%82.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.3%11.1%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%4.4%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.05
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.6%94.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$321,771
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.81%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.610.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$86M expenses · 82.1% of program spending · grants $85M

Expand economic opportunity: working to help more people achieve the american dream through the advancement of pro-worker public policy, promoting family and economic security, lowering the cost of prescription drugs, and expanding access to healthcare including reproductive care

$19M expenses · 17.9% of program spending · grants $19M

Promote civic responsibility: strengthening america and its institutions, researching and developing public policy, and encouraging civic participation

3 filings since FY2023 (8 mo.)

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpensesShort periods (after a fiscal-year change) are in the table, not the chart.
$0$50M$100M$150M$200MFY2024FY2025$104M$105M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$104M$105M99.7%$32M—
FY2024 (amended) ⓘ$120M$93M99.5%$32M—
FY2023 (8 mo.) ⓘ$11M$5.8M93.4%$5.4M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 63

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
CANAL PARTNERS MEDIA
Paid media consultant
$1,000,025
PROGRESSIVE OPERATIONS
Management & programming
$361,093

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 2 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

4 private foundations reported grants to Our American Future Foundation totaling $2.9M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Our American Future Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Our American Future Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All civil rights, social action & advocacy charities · Largest charities in District of Columbia

Questions people ask

How much of Our American Future Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Our American Future Foundation reported that 99.7% of its $105.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Our American Future Foundation get its money?

Of $104.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Our American Future Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 88-4235954 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611359349302326 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 (amended), object 202542349349300149 · read the filing
  • FY2023 (8 mo.): Form 990 for the 8-month short period ending June 30, 2023, object 202411349349306501 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 88-4235954: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.