Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Village Enterprises

Also known as Village Enterprises

Portland, OR · EIN 91-1828496 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Village Enterprises reported $10.5 million in revenue and $13.9 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $94.97 went to program services, $5.03 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 93.1% of the total. Revenue rose 28% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.0%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.0%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.4%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
93.1%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-5.210.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
Not reported100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$14M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $9.8M

Illage enterprises was formed in response to the growing need for affordable assited and independent living housing in the portland metropolatin area. Thereby lesse4ning the burden of government to provide such housing. The focus of the organization at present of two residential facilites

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2019202020212025$11M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$11M$14M95.0%−$6.1M—
2021 ⓘ$9.7M$9.0M95.8%−$11M—
2020 ⓘ$8.7M$10M95.9%−$11M—
2019 ⓘ$8.2M$8.8M96.0%−$10M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNot answered
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Village Enterprises totaling $5,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Village Enterprises's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Village Enterprises, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Oregon

Questions people ask

How much of Village Enterprises's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Village Enterprises reported that 95.0% of its $13.9 million in expenses went to program services, 5.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Village Enterprises get its money?

Of $10.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 0.4% came from contributions and grants and 93.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Village Enterprises a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 91-1828496 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202621989349300202 · read the filing · XML
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213189349304386 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103169349310625 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013219349324776 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 91-1828496: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.