Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Friends of the Mission

Woodland, CA · EIN 91-1834006 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Friends of the Mission reported $12.1 million in revenue and $1.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $94.21 went to program services, $5.79 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 91.3% of the total. Government grants made up 91.1%. Revenue rose 5496% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.6M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.2%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.8%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
91.3%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
91.1%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
8.7%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported3
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
211.556.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.5M expenses · 97.9% of program spending · revenue $1.0M

Friends of the mission assisted 4th and hope, another 501(c)(3) organization, with managing the facility named walter's house. This facility provides transitional and emergency housing for homeless singles and the mentally ill while also providing treatment for those suffering from drug addiction and alcohol abuse. Walter's house also offers a dining facility and counseling offices at below market rates. Friends of the mission also manages six units of affordable rental housing in west sacramento and a seven-unit apartment complex providing permanent supportive housing in woodland

$2,875 expenses · 0.2% of program spending

As part of the broader purpose of providing a place for the homeless and those marginalized by society due to mental illness or drug and alcohol addictions, friends of the mission is a participant in the woodland collaborative - a public-private partnership with a mission to create an economically viable and programmatically sound solution to the increased number of individuals and families living homeless in woodland, california. Starting in 2020, the woodland collaborative constructed the east beamer way emergency 100 bed shelter and continued the planning process for a 60- unit affordable…

$29,125 all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$12M$1.6M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$12M$1.6M94.2%$29M—
2023 ⓘ$5.0M$1.4M94.6%$18M—
2022 ⓘ$12M$657K87.5%$15M—
2021 ⓘ$604K$298K78.8%$3.1M—
2020 ⓘ$1.4M$341K80.9%$2.8M—
2019 ⓘ$216K$403K82.4%$1.7M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 65

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
THURMOND CONSULTING LLC
Management
$821,533

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Friends of the Mission totaling $2,500 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Friends of the Mission's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Friends of the Mission, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of Friends of the Mission's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Friends of the Mission reported that 94.2% of its $1.6 million in expenses went to program services, 5.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Friends of the Mission get its money?

Of $12.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 91.3% came from contributions and grants (including 91.1% from government grants) and 8.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Friends of the Mission a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 91-1834006 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503169349308575 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403209349308560 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303199349307835 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243189349305674 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103199349304525 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033089349300958 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 91-1834006: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.