Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Grays Harbor College Foundation

Aberdeen, WA · EIN 91-6052939 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Grays Harbor College Foundation reported $15.1 million in revenue and $1.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $83.67 went to program services, $13.63 to management and general costs and $2.70 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.4% of the total. Revenue rose 844% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.6M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15M

Other revenue was negative: −$4,638. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
83.7%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
13.6%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
2.7%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
93.4%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
241.213.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
18 of 18100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$844K expenses · 62.0% of program spending · grants $811K

Grays Harbor College tuition awards. Student success: the foundation supports Grays Harbor College students by reducing financial barriers to education through scholarships, childcare assistance, and emergency grants. Funded by endowed and non-endowed sources established by donors and the board of directors, these programs help students stay enrolled and progress toward their degrees. Scholarship awards are based on factors such as academic achievement, financial need, and program of study, and are applied directly to tuition, fees, and other educational expenses. Childcare and emergency…

$518K expenses · 38.0% of program spending · grants $493K

Grays Harbor College facility awards. College support: the foundation provides critical funding to Grays Harbor College for projects and initiatives that enhance the student experience and advance the college's mission. Supported through donor contributions and board-directed funds, these awards help fund campus improvements, instructional equipment, technology upgrades, professional development, and other strategic priorities. Each request is reviewed to ensure alignment with donor intent and the foundation's charitable purpose. Through this support, the foundation strengthens academic…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$15M$1.6M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$15M$1.6M83.7%$33M—
FY2024 ⓘ$2.3M$1.4M85.4%$17M—
FY2023 ⓘ$1.9M$1.5M87.1%$15M—
FY2022 ⓘ$1.8M$1.1M80.8%$14M—
FY2021 ⓘ$1.9M$992K81.3%$16M—
FY2020 ⓘ$1.6M$1.0M91.2%$13M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b18 · 18 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 645

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to Grays Harbor College Foundation totaling $10,344 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Grays Harbor College Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Grays Harbor College Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Washington

Questions people ask

How much of Grays Harbor College Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Grays Harbor College Foundation reported that 83.7% of its $1.6 million in expenses went to program services, 13.6% to management and general and 2.7% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Grays Harbor College Foundation get its money?

Of $15.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 93.4% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Grays Harbor College Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 91-6052939 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202533189349301223 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202432749349300603 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202312899349303211 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202223189349311367 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202103159349303540 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202023259349300747 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 91-6052939: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.