A Race Against Blindness
A Race Against Blindness reported $12.5 million in revenue and $11.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $25.92 went to program services, $1.77 to management and general costs and $72.31 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 111.8% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12MFor context, the median across 169 covered medical research charities: $87.02 programs, $12.87 management, $0.11 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MInvestment income was negative: −$27,826. The bar shows the positive sources only.
Other revenue was negative: −$1.4M. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 25.9% | 83.9% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.8% | 12.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 72.3% | 0.1% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.61 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 111.8% | 72.7% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 5.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $628,890 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.94% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 18 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.9 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 93.8% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseA Race Against Blindness advocated for the communities affected by retinitis pigmentosa, Bardet-Biedl syndrome, blindness and low-vision disorders. In 2024 the organization raised awareness for these diseases and gained enthusiasm for the need to support and fund research to develop therapies and treatments for Bardet-Biedl Syndrome and Retinitis Pigmentosa
2 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 63
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| Right Hook Digital Advertising & Marketing | $262,561 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to A Race Against Blindness totaling $10,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from A Race Against Blindness's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for A Race Against Blindness, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 A Race Against Blindness spent in 2024, $25.92 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- BreastcancerorgArdmore, PA · revenue $12M · programs 78.2% · FY2025
- Cure Childhood CancerAtlanta, GA · revenue $13M · programs 88.6% · FY2025
- Football ResearchNew York, NY · revenue $12M · programs 97.3% · FY2025
- The Roskamp InstituteSarasota, FL · revenue $13M · programs 62.3% · 2025
- South Shore Health ExpressSouth Weymouth, MA · revenue $12M · programs 63.1% · FY2025
All medical research charities · Largest charities in Arizona
Questions people ask
How much of A Race Against Blindness's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, A Race Against Blindness reported that 25.9% of its $11.7 million in expenses went to program services, 1.8% to management and general and 72.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does A Race Against Blindness get its money?
Of $12.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 111.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is A Race Against Blindness a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 92-2174042 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202532809349302003 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202411149349302261 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 92-2174042: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.