Vermilion Charter Foundation
Vermilion Charter Foundation reported $11.6 million in revenue and $11.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $64.51 went to program services, $35.49 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.1% of the total. Government grants made up 97.1%. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 64.5% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 35.5% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 97.1% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 97.1% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 2.9% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.2 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 7 of 7 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense1 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5237
- Volunteers Part I, line 675
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| CHARTER SCHOOLS USA Intercompany charges & management fees | $3,409,889 |
| ELIOR INCA'VIANDS LLC Student meals | $387,640 |
| THE ELEX GROUP INC Furniture lease | $263,585 |
| ROSS BUS AND EQUIPMENT SALES LLC Student transportation | $248,129 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Vermilion Charter Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Vermilion Charter Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Vermilion Charter Foundation spent in FY2025, $64.51 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Portsmouth Christian AcademyDover, NH · revenue $12M · programs 86.5% · FY2025
- Little Priest Tribal CollegeWinnebago, NE · revenue $12M · programs 79.1% · FY2025
- Frederick Douglass Mastery Charter SchoolPhiladelphia, PA · revenue $12M · programs 85.1% · FY2025
- Florida Medical Practice PlanTallahassee, FL · revenue $12M · programs 98.3% · FY2025
- Benchmark SchoolMedia, PA · revenue $12M · programs 76.7% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Vermilion Charter Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Vermilion Charter Foundation reported that 64.5% of its $11.4 million in expenses went to program services, 35.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Vermilion Charter Foundation get its money?
Of $11.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 97.1% came from contributions and grants (including 97.1% from government grants) and 2.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Vermilion Charter Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 92-2464541 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611349349304071 · read the filing · XML
All filings for EIN 92-2464541: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.