Oak Hill Retreat Center
Oak Hill Retreat Center reported $1.4 million in revenue and $1.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $90.67 went to program services, $9.33 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.4% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.0MFor context, the median across 237 covered recreation & sports charities: $88.05 programs, $10.89 management, $1.06 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $1.4MInvestment income was negative: −$1,328. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 90.7% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 9.3% | 10.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.05 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 98.4% | 25.2% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 1.7% | 61.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $365,322 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 2.14% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 161.2 | 14.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseIn 2024, the organization continued improvements and upgrades on the main farm house, barn, and other facilities in preparation for the activities that will be held in the retreat center by church organizations, inner city kids, fatherless children, college students and others
In 2024, the organization began holding mission aligned retreats for churches, youth, and to mentor leadership. Each group plans their own curriculum and agenda for the event but utilizes the organization's site and land to experience God through His creations
2 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 620
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Oak Hill Retreat Center's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Oak Hill Retreat Center, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Oak Hill Retreat Center spent in 2024, $90.67 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Crystal Cove ConservancyNewport Coast, CA · revenue $3.9M · programs 77.6% · FY2025
- Grassroot SoccerHanover, NH · revenue $7.4M · programs 72.5% · 2025
- USA ClimbingSalt Lake City, UT · revenue $7.6M · programs 81.4% · 2024
- The Oaks Park AssociationPortland, OR · revenue $9.4M · programs 76.9% · 2025
- Special Olympics Southern CaliforniaLong Beach, CA · revenue $9.8M · programs 79.7% · 2024
All recreation & sports charities · Largest charities in Texas
Questions people ask
How much of Oak Hill Retreat Center's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Oak Hill Retreat Center reported that 90.7% of its $1.0 million in expenses went to program services, 9.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Oak Hill Retreat Center get its money?
Of $1.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 98.4% came from contributions and grants and 1.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Oak Hill Retreat Center a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 92-2469918 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202542689349301044 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202411369349306691 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 92-2469918: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.