Charity Impact Media

Home › Animal-related

Petsmart Charities

Phoenix, AZ · EIN 93-1140967 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending February 1, 2026 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Petsmart Charities reported $71.2 million in revenue and $68.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending February 1, 2026. Of every $100 it spent, $92.89 went to program services, $3.48 to management and general costs and $3.63 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 92.3% of the total. Revenue rose 19% between FY2020 and FY2026. Source: Form 990, FY2026.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending February 1, 2026 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $69M

For context, the median across 245 covered animal-related charities: $83.96 programs, $9.42 management, $6.62 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending February 1, 2026 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $71M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2026 filing. Median across 245 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2026Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.9%82.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
3.5%9.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
3.6%6.5%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.04$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
92.3%67.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.1%19.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$314,886
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.63%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
010
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
16.426.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 13100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2026 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$30M expenses · 46.2% of program spending · grants $21M · revenue $71,378

Connecting people & pets by creating families through adoption programs. Whether it's through our in-store adoption centers, national adoption week, or our online search tool, we help pets in need find loving families to call their own. In 2025, we partnered with over 2,000 animal welfare groups across the united states to help 395,000 pets find homes through our in-store adoption program in over 1,500 petsmart stores. We also supported the transport of over 34,000 pets to areas where they had a better chance of being adopted

$34M expenses · 53.8% of program spending · grants $29M · revenue $33,622

Supporting pets & people by keeping families together: we support pets and their families through programs that work to make veterinary care more accessible, help battle food insecurity, and provide disaster response in times of need. In 2025, we partnered with human services agencies to donate over $9.8m in pet food, totaling over 56 million meals, to support those facing pet food insecurity. We invested $17.6m in grants to fund programs that support accessible veterinary medicine models that bring more affordable vet care into communities. We also granted over $694,000 to support disaster…

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025FY2026$71M$69M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2026 ⓘ$71M$69M92.9%$94M—
FY2025 ⓘ$69M$65M93.7%$86M—
FY2024 ⓘ$62M$60M94.7%$78M—
FY2023 ⓘ$65M$67M96.1%$70M—
FY2022 ⓘ$73M$68M94.8%$74M—
FY2021 ⓘ$63M$54M96.0%$70M—
FY2020 ⓘ$60M$50M95.0%$60M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2026 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b13 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 613

Largest outside contractors

FY2026 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
PETSMART LLC
Management services
$6,287,912
LANE TERRALEVER LLC
Pr & marketing services
$625,765
SHELTERBUDDY INTERNATIONAL INC
Software development
$300,000
GALLUP INC
Surveying services
$290,778

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 8 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

20 private foundations reported grants to Petsmart Charities totaling $148K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Petsmart Charities's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Petsmart Charities, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All animal-related charities · Largest charities in Arizona

Questions people ask

How much of Petsmart Charities's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending February 1, 2026, Petsmart Charities reported that 92.9% of its $68.9 million in expenses went to program services, 3.5% to management and general and 3.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Petsmart Charities get its money?

Of $71.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending February 1, 2026, 92.3% came from contributions and grants and 0.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Petsmart Charities a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 93-1140967 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2026: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending February 1, 2026, object 202632109349301433 · read the filing
  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending February 2, 2025, object 202512329349301811 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 28, 2024, object 202412199349301751 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 29, 2023, object 202322279349302007 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 30, 2022, object 202242559349302159 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2021, object 202131959349302143 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending February 2, 2020, object 202042109349301069 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 93-1140967: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.