Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Claremont House

Also known as Claremont House Inc.

San Ramon, CA · EIN 94-2394340 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Claremont House reported $12.8 million in revenue and $13.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $80.98 went to program services, $19.02 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 57% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
81.0%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
19.0%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
100.0%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-0.56.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.9M expenses · 74.9% of program spending · revenue $8.8M

Skilled nursing provides room and board, nursing services, memory care, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, meals, housekeeping, laundry, social work, transportation and other services and products as necessary

$2.7M expenses · 25.1% of program spending · revenue $424K

Senior living provides room and board, personal care assistance, memory care, medication management, meals, housekeepig, laundry, transportation and other services and products as necessary

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$13M$13M81.0%−$524K—
2023 ⓘ$12M$14M81.8%−$226K—
2022 ⓘ$11M$12M81.0%$1.2M—
2021 ⓘ$9.8M$11M81.2%$2.3M—
2020 ⓘ$9.2M$9.6M80.8%$3.5M—
2019 ⓘ$8.1M$9.3M81.4%$3.9M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 51

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Claremont House's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Claremont House, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Claremont House's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Claremont House reported that 81.0% of its $13.1 million in expenses went to program services, 19.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Claremont House get its money?

Of $12.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 100.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Claremont House a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 94-2394340 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543169349307009 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413039349302606 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342829349302004 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223149349307457 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202132549349300703 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202022839349302012 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 94-2394340: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.