Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

East Oakland Community Project

Oakland, CA · EIN 94-3078181 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

East Oakland Community Project reported $12.8 million in revenue and $13.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.29 went to program services, $1.53 to management and general costs and $0.18 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.4% of the total. Government grants made up 89.1%. Revenue rose 37% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.3%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.5%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.2%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.4%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
89.1%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.3%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
4.010.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$13M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Crossroads Emergency Shelter Program: During this fiscal year, 401 individuals were served and provided with 29,695 nights of service (Bed-nights). In addition, all of the residents are offered wrap-around case management services, mental health support, substance abuse counseling, life skills training, employment referrals, and health care connections

— expenses

Mathilda cleveland and families in transition - transitional housing programs served 26 families

— expenses

Families in transition - Accomplishments: 9 families exited the program; 100% found permanent housing, transitional housing, or housing wih family members

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$13M$13M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$13M98.3%$4.4M—
FY2024 ⓘ$12M$14M80.3%$5.0M$144,120
FY2023 ⓘ$10M$11M92.5%$6.7M$95,000
FY2022 ⓘ$9.4M$9.7M98.6%$7.7M$103,433
FY2021 ⓘ$9.1M$9.6M97.0%$6.0M$100,934
FY2020 ⓘ$9.3M$8.5M81.8%$6.4M$99,783

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5165

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to East Oakland Community Project totaling $50,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from East Oakland Community Project's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for East Oakland Community Project, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of East Oakland Community Project's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, East Oakland Community Project reported that 98.3% of its $13.4 million in expenses went to program services, 1.5% to management and general and 0.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does East Oakland Community Project get its money?

Of $12.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.4% came from contributions and grants (including 89.1% from government grants) and 0.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is East Oakland Community Project a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 94-3078181 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621349349305662 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202531279349303223 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421369349306002 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202331359349315568 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221339349308492 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111379349308106 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 94-3078181: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.