Charity Impact Media

Home › Public & societal benefit

Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation

Sacramento, CA · EIN 94-3375035 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation reported $12.8 million in revenue and $13.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 99.1% of the total. Revenue fell 6% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 185 covered public & societal benefit charities: $88.81 programs, $11.18 management, $0.01 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 185 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%84.9%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%10.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%83.8%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
99.1%3.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$357,133
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.52%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
012
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
6.110.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$13M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $13M

Receive from the state of california the tobacco settlement revenues due to the County of Sacramento. Make the semi annual payment on the loan with the Tobacco Securitization authority of northern california (authority). The authority issued bonds to fund the corporations purchase of the county's tobacco settlement rights. The authority takes the funds received from the corporation and pays the bondholders

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$13M100.0%$6.6M—
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$14M100.0%$6.7M—
FY2023 ⓘ$15M$16M100.0%$7.8M—
FY2022 ⓘ$18M$17M100.0%$8.6M—
FY2021 ⓘ$17M$16M100.0%$7.9M—
FY2020 ⓘ$14M$14M100.0%$7.0M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 68

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation reported that 100.0% of its $13.0 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation get its money?

Of $12.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 99.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Sacramento County Tobacco Securitization Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 94-3375035 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202503049349302570 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202423199349310087 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202303189349316070 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202243199349317534 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202103079349300400 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202110939349300001 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 94-3375035: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.