Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation

Saint Louis, MO · EIN 94-6485668 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation reported $62.8 million in revenue and $42.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.40 went to program services, $4.60 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 12% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $43M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $63M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.4%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.6%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
311.156.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
0 of 2100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$41M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $28M

Wells fargo bank ("wfb"), as investment trustee, administers the trust and manages the trust's investments. As required by the court orders, the investment trustee made direct distributions to the buck institute for research on aging, alcohol justice, and the buck institute for education (dba pbl works), which totaled in the amount of $10,233,343 for the 2025 fiscal year. Marin community foundation ("mcf"), as distribution trustee, distributed trust funds to charitable recipients, which totaled in the amount of $17,477,270 for the 2025 fiscal year. Grants by the distribution trustee were made…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$63M$43M95.4%$1.11B—
FY2024 ⓘ$57M$76M97.7%$1.05B—
FY2023 ⓘ$62M$55M97.6%$1.04B—
FY2022 ⓘ$56M$44M97.3%$1.02B—
FY2021 ⓘ$50M$56M97.1%$1.14B—
FY2020 ⓘ$56M$49M97.4%$892M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b2 · 0 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation reported that 95.4% of its $42.6 million in expenses went to program services, 4.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation get its money?

Of $62.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Leonard & Beryl Buck Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 94-6485668 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621349349312922 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202541229349302764 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421319349304417 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202341359349313119 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221319349306097 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141349349303769 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 94-6485668: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.