Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Nour Foundation

New York, NY · EIN 95-3992053 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Nour Foundation reported $11.4 million in revenue and $957,302 in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $73.93 went to program services, $26.07 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 85.3% of the total. Revenue rose 419% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $957K

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
73.9%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
26.1%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
14.5%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.1%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
465.66.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$240K expenses · 33.9% of program spending

The Nour Foundation contracted with ibes, llc to devise, operate and maintain a comprehensive website to explore the system of thought of the late ostad elahi from a historical, philosophical and metaphysical perspective. The site features didactic modules and educational courses that promote deeper reflection on a variety of questions, case studies and exercises aimed at better understanding the different facets of ostad elahi's philosophy and written works. In addition, ibes organized and presented a series of virtual educational workshops and seminars on the basis of the didactic modules…

$45,950 expenses · 6.5% of program spending

The foundation organized and presented a series of probing conversations at the morgan library and museum on the subject of "spirituality in the age of science: conversations on god, transcendence, and mortality." the third event in this three-part series took place on february 7, 2024, titled "rethinkng mortality: exploring the intersection of life and death," with physician sam parnia. A second three-part series, "becoming human: an elusive pursuit," launched on november 14, 2024 with "from biology to culture: the evolution of goodness," featuring evolutionary biologist david sloan wilson.…

$13,267 expenses · 1.9% of program spending · revenue $7,880

The foundation organized and presented two musical performances in the department of musical instruments at the metropolitan museum of art. On march 23, 2024, a perfomance entitled "an evening of persian mystical music at the met" featured demonstrations and renditions on the ancient three-stringed lute, the tanbur, and on the persian daf or handheld drum. On may 18, 2024, a second demonstrative perfomance entitled "an evening of persian classical music at the met" featured renditions on the persian setar and the persian zarb or goblet drum. Videos of these musical performances are available…

$409K all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$11M$957K
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$11M$957K73.9%$37M—
2023 ⓘ$2.1M$952K78.3%$31M—
2022 ⓘ$2.3M$992K82.8%$27M—
2021 ⓘ$6.9M$754K74.1%$31M—
2020 ⓘ$5.2M$617K76.7%$23M—
2019 ⓘ$2.2M$1.0M76.7%$17M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 52
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
IBES LLC
Website and workshops
$240,000

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to Nour Foundation totaling $9,565 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Nour Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Nour Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Nour Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Nour Foundation reported that 73.9% of its $957,302 in expenses went to program services, 26.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Nour Foundation get its money?

Of $11.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 14.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Nour Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 95-3992053 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543199349301339 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349312719 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343199349304714 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213119349304211 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123369349301317 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003219349302255 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 95-3992053: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.