Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation
Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation reported $15.2 million in revenue and $10.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.28 went to program services, $1.72 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 54.5% of the total. Revenue rose 59% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending May 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10.0MFor context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending May 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.3% | 86.7% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.7% | 11.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 33.6% | 29.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 3.8% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 54.5% | 58.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $301,601 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.38% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 26.9 | 6.8 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 10 of 10 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation spent in FY2025, $98.28 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- El Nido Family CentersLos Angeles, CA · revenue $15M · programs 82.5% · FY2025
- Goodwill Industries of Northeastern PennsylvaniaScranton, PA · revenue $15M · programs 90.4% · FY2025
- Agape Child and Family ServicesMemphis, TN · revenue $15M · programs 81.7% · FY2025
- Community Action of Southeast IowaBurlington, IA · revenue $15M · programs 94.0% · FY2025
- Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee and the CumberlandsNashville, TN · revenue $15M · programs 82.1% · 2024
All unclassified charities · Largest charities in California
Questions people ask
How much of Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025, Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation reported that 98.3% of its $10.0 million in expenses went to program services, 1.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation get its money?
Of $15.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025, 33.6% came from contributions and grants and 54.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Neural Information Processing Systems Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 95-4364881 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2025, object 202533039349301028 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2024, object 202432639349301233 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2023, object 202302509349300640 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2022, object 202320529349301657 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2021, object 202143099349302144 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending May 31, 2020, object 202013219349323246 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 95-4364881: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.