Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation

Hawaiian Gardens, CA · EIN 95-6201346 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation reported $10.7 million in revenue and $9.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $96.14 went to program services, $3.86 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 19.3% of the total. Revenue fell 18% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.6M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
96.1%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
3.9%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
2.6%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
66.956.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.2M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $5.5M · revenue $10M

Provided funding to nearly 100 different charities, aiding in the furtherance of their scientific, religious, charitable & educational endeavors, and provided funding to defray public safety, educational & recreational burdens of a municipality

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$11M$9.6M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$11M$9.6M96.1%$54M—
2023 ⓘ$11M$10M96.5%$53M—
2022 ⓘ$10.0M$9.0M96.5%$52M—
2021 ⓘ$7.2M$5.1M95.1%$51M—
2020 ⓘ$3.3M$5.2M95.5%$49M—
2019 ⓘ$13M$12M97.2%$51M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 510
  • Volunteers Part I, line 639

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
LMC SECURITY SOLUTIONS INC
Security
$877,705

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation reported that 96.1% of its $9.6 million in expenses went to program services, 3.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation get its money?

Of $10.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 2.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Irving I Moskowitz Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 95-6201346 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523169349309387 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413199349310886 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323139349306152 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213189349312991 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143159349305504 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202043219349321769 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 95-6201346: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.