The American School of Tangier
The American School of Tangier reported $16.4 million in revenue and $15.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 94.8% of the total. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 100.0% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 4.5% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 94.8% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 8.4 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 22 of 22 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense3 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b22 · 22 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from The American School of Tangier's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The American School of Tangier, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 The American School of Tangier spent in FY2025, $100.00 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Eastern Virginia Medical School FoundationNorfolk, VA · revenue $16M · programs 88.8% · FY2025
- Tennessee Technological University FoundationCookeville, TN · revenue $16M · programs 97.8% · FY2025
- Urban Assembly Charter School for Computer ScienceBronx, NY · revenue $16M · programs 90.6% · FY2025
- Middlesex County STEM Charter SchoolPerth Amboy, NJ · revenue $16M · programs 84.7% · FY2025
- Hanalani SchoolsMililani, HI · revenue $16M · programs 92.8% · FY2025
All education charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts
Questions people ask
How much of The American School of Tangier's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, The American School of Tangier reported that 100.0% of its $15.6 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does The American School of Tangier get its money?
Of $16.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 4.5% came from contributions and grants and 94.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is The American School of Tangier a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 98-0002503 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202611969349302186 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202641949349301554 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202141969349302459 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 98-0002503: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.