Hong Kong International School Association Limited
Hong Kong International School Association Limited reported $137.5 million in revenue and $96.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $83.00 went to program services, $15.47 to management and general costs and $1.53 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 71.1% of the total. Revenue rose 25% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $97MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $138MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 83.0% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 15.5% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 1.5% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.29 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 3.7% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.6% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 71.1% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 49.7 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 11 of 11 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b11 · 11 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 6500
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Hong Kong International School Association Limited's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Hong Kong International School Association Limited, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Hong Kong International School Association Limited spent in FY2025, $83.00 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Rutgers University FoundationNew Brunswick, NJ · revenue $137M · programs 87.5% · FY2025
- Ascend Charter SchoolsBrooklyn, NY · revenue $138M · programs 83.0% · FY2025
- Wb Community HealthCranston, RI · revenue $137M · programs 99.8% · FY2025
- Denver School of Science and TechnologyDenver, CO · revenue $138M · programs 98.1% · FY2025
- Saint Xavier UniversityChicago, IL · revenue $137M · programs 84.6% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Hong Kong International School Association Limited's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, Hong Kong International School Association Limited reported that 83.0% of its $96.8 million in expenses went to program services, 15.5% to management and general and 1.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Hong Kong International School Association Limited get its money?
Of $137.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, 3.7% came from contributions and grants (including 0.6% from government grants) and 71.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Hong Kong International School Association Limited a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 98-0483109 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, object 202621519349300252 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2024 (amended), object 202501639349300205 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2023, object 202410449349300641 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2022, object 202301579349301625 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2021, object 202242499349300204 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 98-0483109: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.