Charity Impact Media

Home › International, foreign affairs & national security

The Oxford Funds

United Kingdom, · EIN 98-0680056 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization, Type I
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Oxford Funds reported $432.1 million in revenue and $283.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 67.9% of the total. Revenue fell 15% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $284M

For context, the median across 469 covered international, foreign affairs & national security charities: $89.04 programs, $8.28 management, $2.68 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $432M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 469 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%86.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%8.0%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%2.6%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%96.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
32.1%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$341,362
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.06%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported10
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
316.67.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
1 of 1100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$284M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $139M

The funds's purpose is to provide long-term support to the university of oxford through its investment returns. Total distributions and redemption of investments to unitholders for the funds for the year 2024 were $283,678,855. The funds's revenue was derived entirely by investment income and sales of its units

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$432M$284M100.0%$7.48B—
2023 ⓘ$311M$267M100.0%$6.91B—
2022 ⓘ$1.11B$222M100.0%$6.46B—
2021 ⓘ$736M$213M100.0%$6.91B—
2020 ⓘ$508M$176M100.0%$5.82B—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b1 · 1 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 61

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Oxford Funds's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Oxford Funds, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of The Oxford Funds's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, The Oxford Funds reported that 100.0% of its $283.7 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Oxford Funds get its money?

Of $432.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 32.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Oxford Funds a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 98-0680056 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513209349301546 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403189349312050 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323179349306642 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349309153 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143199349324364 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 98-0680056: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.