Providence University College and Theological Seminary
Providence University College and Theological Seminary reported $18.8 million in revenue and $16.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.42 went to program services, $8.48 to management and general costs and $0.10 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 78.5% of the total. Government grants made up 5.2%. Revenue rose 144% between FY2022 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending April 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $17MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending April 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $19MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 91.4% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 8.5% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.1% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 21.2% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 5.2% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 78.5% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 5.6 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 14 of 14 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseProvidence provides degree options, facilities, and experiences to students who attend the university. Our priorities of campus development, program enhancement, endowed scholarships, employee development, and the growth of the Providence Fund are designed to ensure that our students succeed
4 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Providence University College and Theological Seminary's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Providence University College and Theological Seminary, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Providence University College and Theological Seminary spent in FY2025, $91.42 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- St Thomas SchoolMedina, WA · revenue $19M · programs 78.4% · FY2025
- Ponce Medical School FoundationPonce, PR · revenue $19M · programs 95.1% · FY2025
- Raymond and Ruth Perelman Jewish Day SchoolWynnewood, PA · revenue $19M · programs 73.5% · FY2025
- The Foundation for Hispanic EducationSan Jose, CA · revenue $19M · programs 91.5% · FY2025
- Saga InnovationsNewton, MA · revenue $19M · programs 84.8% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Providence University College and Theological Seminary's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending April 30, 2025, Providence University College and Theological Seminary reported that 91.4% of its $16.6 million in expenses went to program services, 8.5% to management and general and 0.1% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Providence University College and Theological Seminary get its money?
Of $18.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending April 30, 2025, 21.2% came from contributions and grants (including 5.2% from government grants) and 78.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Providence University College and Theological Seminary a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 98-1609081 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school). Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2025, object 202610349349300816 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2024, object 202540769349301224 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2023, object 202430649349301303 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2022, object 202330669349301613 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 98-1609081: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.