Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Omaha Children's Trust

Omaha, NE · EIN 99-1346934 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Omaha Children's Trust reported $22.9 million in revenue and $700,600 in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $44.36 went to program services, $12.06 to management and general costs and $43.58 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $701K

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $23M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
44.4%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
12.1%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
43.6%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.01$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
379.836.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$311K expenses · 100.0% of program spending

The organization will expand and develop the facilities and offerings of the Omaha Children's museum in connection with its ongoing mission to provide educational opportunities to the public. In order to do this, the organization manages fundraising, design, and construction of the buildings. This management is performed in conjunction with the organization and heritage services, a 501c3 organization which provides fundraising and project management service to other nonprofit entities on a project-by-project basis

1 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$23M$701K44.4%$22M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
HERITAGE SERVICES
Project management & fundraising service
$600,000

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Omaha Children's Trust's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Omaha Children's Trust, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Nebraska

Questions people ask

How much of Omaha Children's Trust's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Omaha Children's Trust reported that 44.4% of its $700,600 in expenses went to program services, 12.1% to management and general and 43.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Omaha Children's Trust get its money?

Of $22.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Omaha Children's Trust a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 99-1346934 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202522319349300847 · read the filing · XML

All filings for EIN 99-1346934: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.