Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

The Ferguson Library

Stamford, CT · EIN 06-0646528 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Ferguson Library reported $11.3 million in revenue and $12.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $64.18 went to program services, $33.53 to management and general costs and $2.29 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.1% of the total. Government grants made up 94.5%. Revenue rose 8% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
64.2%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
33.5%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
2.3%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.03$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
96.1%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
94.5%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
3.7%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
10.813.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 10100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$8.1M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $12M

We serve our users equitably by providing access to resources for personal growth and lifelong learning. Our collection of services reflect our diverse community, and we encourage the sharing of diverse point of views to broaden our minds and strengthen relationships. We form partnerships to support the work of other organizations whose goal is to help people lead their best lives

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$13M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$13M64.2%$11M—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$12M66.8%$13M—
FY2023 ⓘ$11M$11M63.6%$13M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$11M63.2%$13M—
FY2021 ⓘ$11M$10M64.3%$13M$149,887
FY2020 ⓘ$11M$11M71.3%$11M$148,283

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5117

Private foundation grants it received

15 private foundations reported grants to The Ferguson Library totaling $458K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Ferguson Library's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Ferguson Library, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Connecticut

Questions people ask

How much of The Ferguson Library's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The Ferguson Library reported that 64.2% of its $12.7 million in expenses went to program services, 33.5% to management and general and 2.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Ferguson Library get its money?

Of $11.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 96.1% came from contributions and grants (including 94.5% from government grants) and 3.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Ferguson Library a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 06-0646528 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202630659349300223 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202531349349309193 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202530629349302158 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321359349319587 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211269349301021 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141359349301949 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 06-0646528: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.