Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Dechomai Foundation

Jacksonville, FL · EIN 06-1676688 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Dechomai Foundation reported $494.6 million in revenue and $504.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.22 went to program services, $0.74 to management and general costs and $0.04 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 103.5% of the total. Revenue rose 1117% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $504M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $495M

Investment income was negative: −$17M. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.2%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.7%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
103.5%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.356.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$500M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $498M · revenue $495M

National donor advised fund that receives, manages, and liquidates non-cash asset contributions and provides charitable gift annuities. Donors are encouraged to recommend public charities to receive grants and increase charitable giving

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$200M$400M$600M$800M20202021202220232024$495M$504M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$495M$504M99.2%$137M—
2023 ⓘ$364M$365M99.0%$145M—
2022 ⓘ$13M$26M88.4%$147M—
2021 ⓘ$178M$128M98.8%$164M—
2020 ⓘ$41M$22M84.5%$114M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
CHARITABLE SOLUTIONS LLC
Administrative services
$4,425,428

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Dechomai Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Dechomai Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Florida

Questions people ask

How much of Dechomai Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Dechomai Foundation reported that 99.2% of its $504.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Dechomai Foundation get its money?

Of $494.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 103.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Dechomai Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 06-1676688 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543159349304249 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403199349315905 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343179349310654 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223199349330962 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202211689349300001 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 06-1676688: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.