Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

The City University of New York School of Law Foundation

Long Island City, NY · EIN 11-3235349 · 501(c)(3) · Organization operated for a governmental college or university
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The City University of New York School of Law Foundation reported $11.8 million in revenue and $2.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $96.73 went to program services, $1.66 to management and general costs and $1.61 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.2% of the total. Revenue rose 492% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $2.3M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
96.7%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
1.6%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
97.2%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
1.7%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
112.513.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
12 of 17100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$402K expenses · 18.5% of program spending · grants $402K

The cost of a law school education is a matter of great concern for those attending cuny law. The majority of those admitted are in need of financial support with a student body that is low-income, first-generation, non-traditional, and significant percentage identifying as people of color. While tuition and fees position cuny law as one of the most affordable professional education programs in the nation, it has had limited funds and needs to increase funding available to award scholarships, public interest summer grants, and grants to support students when they are studying for the bar exam

$1.8M expenses · 81.5% of program spending · grants $55,250

With a faculty of social justice practitioners and a top four nationally clinical program in the nation (US news & world report), grants are invested to advance: community and economic justice, human rights and gender justice, and immigration and non-citizen rights. Since 2009, creating law enforcement accountability & responsibility (clear) has offered free legal representation and consultation, know-your-rights workshops, and support for community organizing focused on muslim, arab, south asian, and other communities in New York City

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$12M$2.3M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$12M$2.3M96.7%$21M—
FY2024 ⓘ$2.7M$2.1M96.0%$11M—
FY2023 ⓘ$3.8M$1.6M95.1%$11M—
FY2022 ⓘ$2.9M$1.3M94.6%$8.3M—
FY2021 ⓘ$1.6M$1.9M95.9%$7.0M—
FY2020 ⓘ$2.0M$1.7M96.7%$6.8M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b17 · 12 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 51

Private foundation grants it received

5 private foundations reported grants to The City University of New York School of Law Foundation totaling $104K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The City University of New York School of Law Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The City University of New York School of Law Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of The City University of New York School of Law Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The City University of New York School of Law Foundation reported that 96.7% of its $2.3 million in expenses went to program services, 1.7% to management and general and 1.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The City University of New York School of Law Foundation get its money?

Of $11.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 97.2% came from contributions and grants (including 1.7% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The City University of New York School of Law Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 11-3235349 as a 501(c)(3) organization (organization operated for a governmental college or university), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600719349301465 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202541199349300229 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202410829349300316 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202243159349307469 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241169349300544 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111249349300916 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 11-3235349: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.