Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools

Albany, NY · EIN 14-1830896 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools reported $11.7 million in revenue and $10.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $83.16 went to program services, $16.84 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 84.1% of the total. Government grants made up 11.2%. Revenue rose 120% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
83.2%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
16.8%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
11.3%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
11.2%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
84.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
13.113.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.4M expenses · 88.7% of program spending · revenue $9.9M

Regular and special education

$939K expenses · 11.3% of program spending

Other program (nurse, food services and transportation)-all students qualify to participate

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$12M$10M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$12M$10M83.2%$11M—
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$11M83.6%$9.2M—
FY2023 ⓘ$11M$10M85.0%$6.5M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$10M79.4%$5.3M—
FY2020 ⓘ$5.3M$4.5M83.8%$2.1M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5115

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
A'VIANDS
Food service
$643,717
DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES
Bus transportat
$461,414
ACTS CLEANING SERVICE
Janitorial
$261,575
VULCAN PROPERTY SERVICES INC
Property maint
$192,060

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools totaling $23 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools reported that 83.2% of its $10.0 million in expenses went to program services, 16.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools get its money?

Of $11.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 11.3% came from contributions and grants (including 11.2% from government grants) and 84.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Brighter Choice Elementary Charter Schools a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 14-1830896 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202543079349302014 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202443099349301059 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202333049349300233 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202223139349300142 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202043179349303179 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 14-1830896: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.