Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff

Atlanta, GA · EIN 20-2563055 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff reported $64.1 million in revenue and $92.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 70.1% of the total. Revenue rose 45% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $93M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $64M

Other revenue was negative: −$4.0M. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.5%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
70.1%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
57.910.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$2.4M expenses · 2.6% of program spending · revenue $1.9M

Beechwood at the preserve apartments, located at 3080 west 8th street, waukegan, il 60085, has 166 multifamily units that are leased to provide low income housing to those individuals needing public housing assistance

$2.4M expenses · 2.5% of program spending · revenue $1.8M

The landmark of west allis, located at 1441 south 68th street, west allis, wi 53214, has 127 multifamily units that are leased to provide low income housing to those individuals needing public housing assistance

$2.2M expenses · 2.4% of program spending · revenue $1.8M

Campanion at bridle ridge apartments, located at 310 chandler road, greer, sc 29651, has 152 multifamily units that are leased to provide low income housing to those individuals needing public housing assistance

$86M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$200M$400M$600M$800M201920202021202220232024$64M$93M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 (amended) ⓘ$64M$93M100.0%$448M—
2023 ⓘ$570M$135M100.0%$476M—
2022 ⓘ$113M$164M100.0%$42M—
2021 ⓘ$238M$123M100.0%$92M—
2020 ⓘ$79M$81M100.0%−$23M—
2019 ⓘ$44M$62M100.0%−$21M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
MICHAELS MANAGEMENT - AFFORDABLE LLC
Management fees, payroll and miscellaneo
$5,290,035
CAPITAL MEZZ FUND II INC
Loan servicing fees
$2,475,623
GREYSTONE PROPERTY MNAGEMENT CORP
Management fees, payroll and miscellaneo
$1,448,648
ODEN DEVELOPMENT
General contracting services
$1,090,243
ION ENERGY FOR MULTIFAMY LLC
Smart metering solutions
$529,294

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 6 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff totaling $283 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Georgia

Questions people ask

How much of Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff reported that 100.0% of its $92.7 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff get its money?

Of $64.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.5% came from contributions and grants and 70.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Foundation for Affordable Rental Housing Holdings Inc. F/K/A Farh-Lamplighter Aff a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 20-2563055 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (amended), object 202600689349301740 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423209349314187 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303199349307935 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213199349311746 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123159349303887 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202012679349301321 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 20-2563055: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.