Lee County Youth Development Center
Lee County Youth Development Center reported $10.6 million in revenue and $10.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $81.10 went to program services, $18.90 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.9% of the total. Government grants made up 95.1%. Revenue rose 13% between FY2020 and FY2024. Source: Form 990, FY2024.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11MFor context, the median across 274 covered crime & legal-related charities: $87.85 programs, $11.30 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 81.1% | 86.7% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 18.9% | 11.1% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 96.9% | 94.8% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 95.1% | 50.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $245,814 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.41% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 19.6 | 6.4 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 14 of 14 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5207
- Volunteers Part I, line 6116
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Lee County Youth Development Center totaling $10,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Lee County Youth Development Center's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Lee County Youth Development Center, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Lee County Youth Development Center spent in FY2024, $81.10 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Partners for JusticeNew York, NY · revenue $11M · programs 91.5% · 2025
- Children's Assessment Center FoundationHouston, TX · revenue $11M · programs 86.7% · FY2025
- Delaware Bar FoundationWilmington, DE · revenue $11M · programs 99.4% · FY2025
- Atlanta Downtown Improvement DistrictAtlanta, GA · revenue $11M · programs 92.2% · 2024
- Pathfinders of OregonPortland, OR · revenue $10M · programs 80.9% · FY2025
All crime & legal-related charities · Largest charities in Alabama
Questions people ask
How much of Lee County Youth Development Center's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, Lee County Youth Development Center reported that 81.1% of its $10.5 million in expenses went to program services, 18.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Lee County Youth Development Center get its money?
Of $10.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, 96.9% came from contributions and grants (including 95.1% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Lee County Youth Development Center a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 23-7078903 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202522269349303102 · read the filing · XML
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202412259349300851 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202302159349300145 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202202229349301345 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202101349349307005 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 23-7078903: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.