Atlanta Downtown Improvement District
Atlanta Downtown Improvement District reported $10.8 million in revenue and $15.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $92.25 went to program services, $7.75 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 89.0% of the total. Government grants made up 89.0%. Revenue rose 10% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $15MFor context, the median across 274 covered crime & legal-related charities: $87.85 programs, $11.30 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 92.2% | 86.7% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 7.8% | 11.1% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 89.0% | 94.8% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 89.0% | 50.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 10.0% | 0.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $245,814 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.41% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 3.9 | 6.4 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 9 of 9 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe ambassador force: program focused on making Downtown Atlanta easier and safer to navigate, providing directions, and being a physical uniformed presence throughout the area
Special capital projects: the organization has developed various programs designed to improve streets and sidewalks of Downtown Atlanta. These programs include, south downtown street enhancements, transportation demand management, downtown traffic operations program, auburn history and culture, baker street two-way construction, the stitch, curbside management study, and others
Programmatic services : includes public space maintenance, landscaping, social impact and vibrancy programs. These initiatives include the peachtree meets sweet auburn and the arts and entertainment district
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5129
- Volunteers Part I, line 69
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| WSP USA INC Capital project (stitch) | $1,718,009 |
| CENTRAL ATLANTA PROGRESS Management fees, marketing support, & contract services | $1,106,446 |
| KIMLEY-HORN AND ASSOCIATES Design | $356,677 |
| GIBBS LANDSCAPING COMPANY Flower planting and special projects | $347,692 |
| JACOBS ENGINEERING GROUP Capital projects | $298,488 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 7 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Atlanta Downtown Improvement District's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Atlanta Downtown Improvement District, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Atlanta Downtown Improvement District spent in 2024, $92.25 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Children's Assessment Center FoundationHouston, TX · revenue $11M · programs 86.7% · FY2025
- Oregon Law FoundationPortland, OR · revenue $11M · programs 93.2% · 2024
- Lee County Youth Development CenterOpelika, AL · revenue $11M · programs 81.1% · FY2024
- Center for HopeBaltimore, MD · revenue $11M · programs 83.7% · FY2025
- Partners for JusticeNew York, NY · revenue $11M · programs 91.5% · 2025
All crime & legal-related charities · Largest charities in Georgia
Questions people ask
How much of Atlanta Downtown Improvement District's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Atlanta Downtown Improvement District reported that 92.2% of its $15.1 million in expenses went to program services, 7.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Atlanta Downtown Improvement District get its money?
Of $10.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 89.0% came from contributions and grants (including 89.0% from government grants) and 10.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Atlanta Downtown Improvement District a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 58-2218795 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513219349318021 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202521219349302307 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333179349304128 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213199349301491 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113199349309416 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003169349302600 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 58-2218795: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.