Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Dayton Regional STEM Schools

Kettering, OH · EIN 26-2955857 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Dayton Regional STEM Schools reported $12.3 million in revenue and $10.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.86 went to program services, $6.14 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 91.8% of the total. Government grants made up 86.6%. Revenue rose 75% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
93.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
6.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
91.8%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
86.6%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
4.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
23.713.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.9M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $911K

The Dayton Regional STEM Schools is an independent public STEM school serving students from gades 6-12. We are committed to providing a quality education to the young minds of the dayton region through project based learning and career exploration, and our five qualitites: creativity, inquiry, collaboration, persistence and communication. During the school year we served 785 students, from over 36 school district in seven local counties

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$12M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$12M$11M93.9%$21M—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$8.4M94.2%$19M—
FY2023 ⓘ$8.8M$7.3M93.4%$16M—
FY2022 ⓘ$8.8M$7.0M91.8%$15M—
FY2021 ⓘ$8.0M$6.1M93.1%$13M—
FY2020 ⓘ$7.1M$6.0M96.3%$11M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 532

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
SHOOK CONSTRUCTION
Construction services
$8,697,206
WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY
Professional services
$5,659,858
HUNTINGTON NATIONAL BANK
Debt services - facility
$1,672,933
THE BANK OF NEW YORK MELLON
Debt services-facility
$784,337

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to Dayton Regional STEM Schools totaling $2,630 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Dayton Regional STEM Schools's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Dayton Regional STEM Schools, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Ohio

Questions people ask

How much of Dayton Regional STEM Schools's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Dayton Regional STEM Schools reported that 93.9% of its $10.6 million in expenses went to program services, 6.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Dayton Regional STEM Schools get its money?

Of $12.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 91.8% came from contributions and grants (including 86.6% from government grants) and 4.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Dayton Regional STEM Schools a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 26-2955857 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202533389349301208 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202520499349300527 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411229349301001 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311359349301371 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211339349302451 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141339349302054 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 26-2955857: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.