Alpha Academy
Alpha Academy reported $12.3 million in revenue and $11.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $70.26 went to program services, $29.74 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 85.7% of the total. Government grants made up 14.2%. Revenue rose 65% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 70.3% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 29.7% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 14.3% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 14.2% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 85.7% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 16.7 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5171
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Alpha Academy's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Alpha Academy, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Alpha Academy spent in FY2025, $70.26 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Atlantic UniversityGuaynabo, PR · revenue $12M · programs 55.6% · FY2025
- Citizens Academy SoutheastCleveland, OH · revenue $12M · programs 70.2% · FY2025
- Rabbinical College of AmericaMorristown, NJ · revenue $12M · programs 83.5% · FY2025
- Dayton Regional STEM SchoolsKettering, OH · revenue $12M · programs 93.9% · FY2025
- Get Ready GuilfordGreensboro, NC · revenue $12M · programs 100.0% · 2024
All education charities · Largest charities in North Carolina
Questions people ask
How much of Alpha Academy's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Alpha Academy reported that 70.3% of its $11.1 million in expenses went to program services, 29.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Alpha Academy get its money?
Of $12.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 14.3% came from contributions and grants (including 14.2% from government grants) and 85.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Alpha Academy a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 56-2200096 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631209349300533 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202413469349300406 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202440449349300339 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321369349300512 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211259349302076 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141349349302614 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 56-2200096: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.