Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Inspire Charter Academy

East Baton Rouge, LA · EIN 27-1666690 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Inspire Charter Academy reported $10.1 million in revenue and $10.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.01 went to program services, $8.99 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.4% of the total. Government grants made up 99.4%. Revenue rose 60% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.0%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.0%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.4%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
99.4%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.113.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$8.6M expenses · 93.8% of program spending · revenue $59,025

Operated an educational institution organized as a public school academy. The school provides education, at no cost to the parent, to students in kindergarten through eighth grade. The school operates under a charter approved by the east baton rouge parish school board

$563K expenses · 6.2% of program spending

Operated a school food service program at the school described above. The school offers free or reduced breakfast and/or lunch for families that qualify. Research has shown that students who eat their breakfast in the morning exhibit better memory retention. Funding for this program was provided by the usda food and nutrition service, in the amount of $614,396

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$10M$10M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$10M$10M91.0%$112K—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$11M91.7%$55,515—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.3M$9.4M90.7%$66,236—
FY2022 ⓘ$8.0M$8.0M88.8%$96,360—
FY2021 ⓘ$7.5M$7.4M89.3%$84,283—
FY2020 ⓘ$6.3M$6.3M87.9%$38,985—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 6270

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
NATIONAL HERITAGE ACADEMIES INC
Management services
$8,888,577

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Inspire Charter Academy's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Inspire Charter Academy, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Louisiana

Questions people ask

How much of Inspire Charter Academy's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Inspire Charter Academy reported that 91.0% of its $10.1 million in expenses went to program services, 9.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Inspire Charter Academy get its money?

Of $10.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.4% came from contributions and grants (including 99.4% from government grants) and 0.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Inspire Charter Academy a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 27-1666690 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202620969349300642 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202510969349300516 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441229349300639 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321359349314242 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202240709349301919 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202110709349301561 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 27-1666690: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.