Home › Mental health & crisis intervention
Southern Healthcare Alliance
Southern Healthcare Alliance reported $316.6 million in revenue and $316.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.5% of the total. Revenue rose 565% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $317MFor context, the median across 864 covered mental health & crisis intervention charities: $86.13 programs, $13.87 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $317MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 100.0% | 85.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 93.5% | 26.4% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 14.5% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 6.5% | 69.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $324,111 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.0 | 6.2 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseFacilitate the provision of healthcare to the indigent by fostering cooperation among health care providers to increase the resources available to provide such care and perform such other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to fulfill the purposes of the corporation
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNot answered
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Southern Healthcare Alliance's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Southern Healthcare Alliance, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Southern Healthcare Alliance spent in FY2025, $100.00 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Pine Rest Christian Mental Health ServicesGrand Rapids, MI · revenue $284M · programs 77.9% · FY2025
- Sheppard Pratt Health SystemBaltimore, MD · revenue $343M · programs 79.5% · FY2025
- Northeast Behavioral Health Care ConsortMoosic, PA · revenue $276M · programs 97.3% · 2025
- Samaritan Daytop VillageBriarwood, NY · revenue $352M · programs 92.7% · FY2025
- Eliot Community Human ServicesLexington, MA · revenue $256M · programs 89.9% · FY2025
All mental health & crisis intervention charities · Largest charities in Texas
Questions people ask
How much of Southern Healthcare Alliance's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Southern Healthcare Alliance reported that 100.0% of its $316.7 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Southern Healthcare Alliance get its money?
Of $316.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 93.5% came from contributions and grants and 6.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Southern Healthcare Alliance a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 27-3325657 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202621979349300847 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202521959349300867 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202420129349300002 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202213549349300831 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202210529349300816 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 27-3325657: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.