Charity Impact Media

Home › Civil rights, social action & advocacy

The Translatin Coalition

Los Angeles, CA · EIN 27-3801872 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Translatin Coalition reported $12.5 million in revenue and $7.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $89.99 went to program services, $9.50 to management and general costs and $0.51 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.2% of the total. Government grants made up 67.9%. Revenue rose 1088% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.2M

For context, the median across 132 covered civil rights, social action & advocacy charities: $84.11 programs, $11.40 management, $4.49 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 132 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
90.0%82.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.5%11.1%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.5%4.4%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.05
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
97.2%94.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
67.9%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$321,771
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.81%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
22.510.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 13100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$6.5M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Provision of services to more than 5000 transpeople from los angeles and surrounding counties through the violence prevention and transgender wellness center in los angeles ca facilitated skill building sessions facilitated legal clinics facilitated prep and HIV education services collaborated with other social supportive service agencies for medical and housing services

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$13M$7.2M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$13M$7.2M90.0%$14M—
2023 ⓘ$8.3M$6.3M89.6%$9.5M—
2022 ⓘ$7.5M$3.6M87.3%$7.4M—
2021 ⓘ$3.9M$2.7M95.7%$3.4M—
2020 ⓘ$3.0M$1.7M89.9%$2.2M—
2019 ⓘ$1.1M$853K71.6%$659K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b13 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 588

Private foundation grants it received

14 private foundations reported grants to The Translatin Coalition totaling $1.5M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Translatin Coalition's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Translatin Coalition, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All civil rights, social action & advocacy charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of The Translatin Coalition's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, The Translatin Coalition reported that 90.0% of its $7.2 million in expenses went to program services, 9.5% to management and general and 0.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Translatin Coalition get its money?

Of $12.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 97.2% came from contributions and grants (including 67.9% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Translatin Coalition a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 27-3801872 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503179349301500 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202412359349300921 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333129349304848 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202232739349300538 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202142379349301304 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202031299349301528 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 27-3801872: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.