Charity Impact Media

Home › Civil rights, social action & advocacy

Legacy Plus Foundation

Williamsville, NY · EIN 92-1216038 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Legacy Plus Foundation reported $12.8 million in revenue and $7.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $79.19 went to program services, $18.92 to management and general costs and $1.89 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.2% of the total. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.9M

For context, the median across 132 covered civil rights, social action & advocacy charities: $84.11 programs, $11.40 management, $4.49 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 132 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
79.2%82.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
18.9%11.1%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
1.9%4.4%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.01$0.05
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.2%94.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$321,771
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.81%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
8.210.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$2.8M expenses · 44.1% of program spending · grants $1.2M

The realize the dream iniative seeks to inspire generational change and track 100 million hours of service by 2029, marking the 100th anniversary of dr. Kings birth. By uniting americans through service, the initiative fosters connection, builds a culture of empathy, and drives collective action to achieve this historic milestone

$2.7M expenses · 42.9% of program spending · grants $2.2M

The organization engages in international projects py parterning with communities in ecuador, kenya, ghana and other countries to carryout its holistic and sustainable development programs. The model works to create long-term solutions in education, health, water, food security, and alternative income programs

$817K expenses · 13.0% of program spending · grants $650K

Other programs

2 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2024FY2025$13M$7.9M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$7.9M79.2%$5.4M—
FY2024 ⓘ$1.9M$1.3M92.7%$601K—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
GOTHAM GHOSTWRITERS LLC
Consulting fees
$142,892
HUDSON ABBOTT INC
Consulting
$128,731

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Legacy Plus Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Legacy Plus Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All civil rights, social action & advocacy charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Legacy Plus Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Legacy Plus Foundation reported that 79.2% of its $7.9 million in expenses went to program services, 18.9% to management and general and 1.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Legacy Plus Foundation get its money?

Of $12.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 99.2% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Legacy Plus Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 92-1216038 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202621969349302367 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202541259349301144 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 92-1216038: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.