Utah Connections Academy
Utah Connections Academy reported $12.5 million in revenue and $13.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $90.55 went to program services, $9.45 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Government grants made up 100.0%. Revenue rose 47% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12MInvestment income was negative: −$4,923. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 90.6% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 9.4% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 4.7 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 3 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 63
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| PEARSON VIRTUAL SCHOOLS Educational and management services | $14,348,880 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Utah Connections Academy's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Utah Connections Academy, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Utah Connections Academy spent in FY2025, $90.55 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Santos Manuel Student Union of CsusbSan Bernardino, CA · revenue $12M · programs 44.2% · FY2025
- Building Blocks Developmental Pre-SchoolCommack, NY · revenue $12M · programs 90.3% · FY2025
- National Disability InstituteWashington, DC · revenue $12M · programs 84.2% · 2024
- The Fletcher SchoolCharlotte, NC · revenue $12M · programs 72.7% · FY2025
- Islamic Services FoundationRichardson, TX · revenue $12M · programs 100.0% · 2024
Questions people ask
How much of Utah Connections Academy's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Utah Connections Academy reported that 90.6% of its $13.7 million in expenses went to program services, 9.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Utah Connections Academy get its money?
Of $12.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 100.0% came from contributions and grants (including 100.0% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Utah Connections Academy a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 27-3842130 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202630829349301413 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202530809349300008 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202430999349300718 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202341289349303699 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221249349302952 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202140699349300129 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 27-3842130: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.