Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund

Boston, MA · EIN 30-0748315 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund reported $284.9 million in revenue and $729.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.49 went to program services, $0.51 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 57.6% of the total. Revenue rose 149% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $729M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $285M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.5%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.5%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
57.6%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.056.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$726M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $726M · revenue $1.5M

Bny Mellon Charitable Gift Fund is a 501(c)(3) which promotes philanthropy by receiving charitable contributions, by providing support to encourage the making of charitable contributions, pooling such contributions for investment management and administrative purposes, and by making gifts to organizations which are dedicated to charitable, scientific, literary and educational purposes

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$200M$400M$600M$800M201920202021202220232024$285M$729M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$285M$729M99.5%$2.0M—
2023 ⓘ$171M$117M97.5%$497M—
2022 ⓘ$369M$91M97.5%$482M—
2021 ⓘ$208M$45M95.5%$343M—
2020 ⓘ$127M$74M97.8%$236M—
2019 ⓘ$115M$40M97.7%$219M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 67

Private foundation grants it received

9 private foundations reported grants to BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund totaling $792K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Massachusetts

Questions people ask

How much of BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund reported that 99.5% of its $729.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund get its money?

Of $284.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 57.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is BNY Mellon Charitable Gift Fund a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 30-0748315 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202541919349300514 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202421799349300202 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202311709349300401 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202231929349301108 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202101689349300225 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202031909349301903 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 30-0748315: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.