Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Charitable Assets Trust

Austin, TX · EIN 99-6327547 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the 10-month short period ending December 31, 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Charitable Assets Trust reported $274.5 million in revenue and $55.7 million in expenses for the 10-month short period ending December 31, 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $93.88 went to program services, $6.12 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.1% of the total. Source: Form 990, FY2024 (10 mo.).

Where $100 of spending went

The 10-month short period ending December 31, 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $56M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The 10-month short period ending December 31, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $275M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2024 (10 mo.) filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2024 (10 mo.)Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
93.9%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
6.1%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
93.1%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
43.756.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
0 of 1100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2024 (10 mo.) · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$52M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $51M

Receives contributions and makes grants to tax-exempt public charities in furtherance of christian ministry

1 filings since FY2024 (10 mo.)

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2024 (10 mo.) ⓘ$275M$56M93.9%$203M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2024 (10 mo.) · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b1 · 0 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Charitable Assets Trust's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Charitable Assets Trust, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Charitable Assets Trust's spending goes to programs?

In the 10-month short period ending December 31, 2024, Charitable Assets Trust reported that 93.9% of its $55.7 million in expenses went to program services, 6.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Charitable Assets Trust get its money?

Of $274.5 million in revenue in the 10-month short period ending December 31, 2024, 93.1% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Charitable Assets Trust a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 99-6327547 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2024 (10 mo.): Form 990 for the 10-month short period ending December 31, 2024, object 202543159349303714 · read the filing · XML

All filings for EIN 99-6327547: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.