Dohn Community High School
Dohn Community High School reported $21.4 million in revenue and $20.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023. Of every $100 it spent, $73.93 went to program services, $26.07 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.9% of the total. Government grants made up 98.5%. Source: Form 990, FY2023.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $21MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $21MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2023 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 73.9% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 26.1% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.9% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 98.5% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.1% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 2.3 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 7 of 7 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2023 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseState aid provided to the school to aid in the development and teaching of 1,610 FTE high school students at the school. The school receives the majority of their funding 98.5% from state and federal grants based on the number of FTE requirements
3 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2023 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5219
- Volunteers Part I, line 67
Largest outside contractors
FY2023 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| Capital School Services Educational Services | $946,965 |
| Cincinnati Charter School Collaborative Management | $946,870 |
| Elite Development Resources LLC Staff Development | $460,000 |
| Buckeye Community Hope Foundation Management | $396,628 |
| Progressive Tech Solutions LLC Instructional Services | $307,850 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 14 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
3 private foundations reported grants to Dohn Community High School totaling $77,027 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Dohn Community High School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Dohn Community High School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Dohn Community High School spent in FY2023, $73.93 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Regina Coeli Child Development CenterRobert, LA · revenue $21M · programs 88.9% · FY2025
- Cheyenne Mountain Charter AcademyColorado Springs, CO · revenue $21M · programs 88.9% · FY2025
- Eagle Ridge AcademyMinnetonka, MN · revenue $21M · programs 88.7% · FY2025
- Cape Fear Community College FoundationWilmington, NC · revenue $21M · programs 97.0% · FY2025
- German International School of Silicon ValleyMountain View, CA · revenue $21M · programs 87.3% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Dohn Community High School's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, Dohn Community High School reported that 73.9% of its $20.9 million in expenses went to program services, 26.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Dohn Community High School get its money?
Of $21.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, 99.9% came from contributions and grants (including 98.5% from government grants) and 0.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Dohn Community High School a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 31-1672272 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202323059349300402 · read the filing · XML
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202300609349300600 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202210119349300406 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 31-1672272: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.