Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Cape Fear Community College Foundation

Wilmington, NC · EIN 58-1308578 · 501(c)(3) · Organization operated for a governmental college or university
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Cape Fear Community College Foundation reported $21.4 million in revenue and $9.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $96.98 went to program services, $2.53 to management and general costs and $0.49 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 94.6% of the total. Revenue rose 1373% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.9M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $21M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
97.0%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.5%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.5%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
94.6%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
51.213.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
12 of 12100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.2M expenses · 13.0% of program spending · grants $1.2M

Scholarships to students at Cape Fear Community College and mini-grants to instructors, based on documented criteria

$8.3M expenses · 86.5% of program spending

Donations of cash to Cape Fear Community College for educational support and for various services and improvements and to assist in generating cash and non-cash support from businesses and individuals to help further the programs of the college

$55,779 expenses · 0.6% of program spending

Donations of non-cash items to Cape Fear Community College to help further the programs of the college

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$21M$9.9M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$21M$9.9M97.0%$42M—
FY2024 ⓘ$15M$3.5M80.5%$29M—
FY2023 ⓘ$3.8M$1.6M72.3%$19M$159,096
FY2022 ⓘ$3.2M$1.1M79.7%$17M$133,766
FY2021 ⓘ$3.5M$1.7M92.1%$18M$110,851
FY2020 ⓘ$1.5M$1.1M96.1%$13M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 12 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 612

Private foundation grants it received

10 private foundations reported grants to Cape Fear Community College Foundation totaling $91,025 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Cape Fear Community College Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Cape Fear Community College Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in North Carolina

Questions people ask

How much of Cape Fear Community College Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Cape Fear Community College Foundation reported that 97.0% of its $9.9 million in expenses went to program services, 2.5% to management and general and 0.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Cape Fear Community College Foundation get its money?

Of $21.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 94.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Cape Fear Community College Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 58-1308578 as a 501(c)(3) organization (organization operated for a governmental college or university), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631219349300448 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202530519349300018 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202343549349300314 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202243409349300539 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202113529349300601 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202003389349300705 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 58-1308578: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.