Urban Corps of San Diego County
Urban Corps of San Diego County reported $16.7 million in revenue and $17.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.90 went to program services, $7.53 to management and general costs and $0.57 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 78.1% of the total. Government grants made up 16.0%. Revenue rose 24% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $18MFor context, the median across 409 covered employment charities: $88.97 programs, $11.03 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 91.9% | 88.0% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 7.5% | 10.9% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.6% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.03 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 18.0% | 22.8% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 16.0% | 1.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 78.1% | 62.6% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $297,435 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.26% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 9.7 | 8.1 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 10 of 12 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseCommunity improvement services - the corps contracts with San Diego business improvement district to conduct services, such as sidewalk cleaning, graffiti removal, landscape maintenance, irrigation repair, and removal of illegal dump sites
Environmental - the environmental projects division trains young adults to protect and maintain the urban environment. Corpsmembers learn about San Diego's natural environment, and help restore and enhance the ecosystems, control erosions, and restore habitat. Corps members learn to use various hand tools, power tools, and light equipment
Recycling - Urban Corps of San Diego County provides recycling services to large entertainment venues and community events. This program provides employment income and job training for corpsmembers. Over 200 business and government offices recived such services
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 10 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5570
- Volunteers Part I, line 610
Private foundation grants it received
9 private foundations reported grants to Urban Corps of San Diego County totaling $441K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Urban Corps of San Diego County's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Urban Corps of San Diego County, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Urban Corps of San Diego County spent in FY2025, $91.90 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Michigan Statewide Carpenters and Millwrights Joint Appr Train FundLansing, MI · revenue $17M · programs 68.2% · FY2025
- Citrus Levy Marion Regional WorkforceOcala, FL · revenue $17M · programs 95.2% · FY2025
- Marc Inc. of ManchesterManchester, CT · revenue $17M · programs 83.8% · FY2025
- ValleylifePhoenix, AZ · revenue $17M · programs 87.3% · FY2025
- Brevard Workforce Development BoardRockledge, FL · revenue $17M · programs 92.0% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Urban Corps of San Diego County's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Urban Corps of San Diego County reported that 91.9% of its $17.9 million in expenses went to program services, 7.5% to management and general and 0.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Urban Corps of San Diego County get its money?
Of $16.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 18.0% came from contributions and grants (including 16.0% from government grants) and 78.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Urban Corps of San Diego County a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 33-0352148 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202640829349301629 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202510659349301021 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202420479349300917 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202320869349301242 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202210739349301791 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121209349301792 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 33-0352148: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.