Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

American Lutheran Homes

Menomonie, WI · EIN 39-0806814 · 501(c)(3) · Church
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

American Lutheran Homes reported $10.6 million in revenue and $8.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $82.78 went to program services, $17.22 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 79.6% of the total. Revenue rose 36% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.6M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
82.8%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
17.2%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
13.2%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.7%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
79.6%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
8.86.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$3.9M expenses · 54.9% of program spending · revenue $4.5M

The primary activity of the organization is to provide skilled and intermediate nursing care for the aged and disabled of the surrounding area. The organization serves the mondovi, wisconsin community by operating a 35-bed skilled nursing facility and 38-unit community based residential facility (cbrf). The mondovi skilled nursing facility provided 6,947 days of resident care in 2024. The cbrf provided 11,243 days of resident care in 2024. The facility offers skilled nursing care in both short-term rehabilitation programs and long-term care resident programs. Some of the specialized care…

$3.2M expenses · 45.1% of program spending · revenue $3.9M

The primary activity of the organization is to provide skilled nursing care for the aged and disabled of the surrounding area. The organization serves the menomonie, wisconsin area community by operating a 37-bed skilled nursing facility and in 2024, acquired the oaks - a 36-unit apartment independent living facility. The menomonie nursing facility provided 10,564 resident days of care in 2024. The facility offers skilled nursing care in both short-term rehabilitation programs and for long-term care residents. Some of the specialized care services offered include iv therapy care, wound care…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$11M$8.6M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$11M$8.6M82.8%$6.3M—
2023 ⓘ$8.7M$8.1M84.1%$4.3M—
2022 ⓘ$7.9M$7.8M85.0%$3.7M—
2021 ⓘ$8.2M$7.5M85.7%$3.8M—
2020 ⓘ$7.9M$7.8M86.2%$2.9M—
2019 ⓘ$7.7M$7.6M86.3%$2.8M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5214
  • Volunteers Part I, line 67

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
GREENFIELD REHABILITATION
Therapy services
$570,640

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from American Lutheran Homes's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for American Lutheran Homes, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in Wisconsin

Questions people ask

How much of American Lutheran Homes's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, American Lutheran Homes reported that 82.8% of its $8.6 million in expenses went to program services, 17.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does American Lutheran Homes get its money?

Of $10.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 13.2% came from contributions and grants (including 0.7% from government grants) and 79.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is American Lutheran Homes a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 39-0806814 as a 501(c)(3) organization (church), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513189349311111 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423129349302857 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333189349301628 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213069349300446 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202122949349301337 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013189349300426 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 39-0806814: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.