Charity Impact Media

Home › International, foreign affairs & national security

Worldserve International

Erie, PA · EIN 43-1535009 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Worldserve International reported $10.2 million in revenue and $9.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $83.23 went to program services, $9.51 to management and general costs and $7.26 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 104.7% of the total. Revenue rose 253% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.5M

For context, the median across 469 covered international, foreign affairs & national security charities: $89.04 programs, $8.28 management, $2.68 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

Other revenue was negative: −$553K. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 469 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
83.2%86.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.5%8.0%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
7.3%2.6%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.06$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
104.7%96.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$341,362
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.06%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
010
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
5.17.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 12100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.9M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

African water projects provide clean water to underserved areas affected by drought and disaster. Clean water is essential to agriculture, economic development and prevention and treatment of disease and sustaining human life

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$10M$9.5M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$10M$9.5M83.2%$4.0M—
2023 ⓘ$12M$13M90.2%$3.3M$170,000
2022 ⓘ$10M$7.4M88.3%$3.9M$176,957
2021 ⓘ$6.6M$5.8M87.0%$1.0M$180,876
2020 ⓘ$3.7M$4.9M87.0%$214K$176,608
2019 ⓘ$2.9M$3.1M77.5%$1.4M$161,068

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 56

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Worldserve International totaling $344K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Worldserve International's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Worldserve International, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All international, foreign affairs & national security charities · Largest charities in Pennsylvania

Questions people ask

How much of Worldserve International's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Worldserve International reported that 83.2% of its $9.5 million in expenses went to program services, 9.5% to management and general and 7.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Worldserve International get its money?

Of $10.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 104.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Worldserve International a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 43-1535009 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349314902 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433199349303583 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202302229349301910 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202202079349301410 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202112659349300501 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003109349302220 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 43-1535009: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.