Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Dare 2

Dallas, TX · EIN 45-2931795 · 501(c)(3) · Church
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Dare 2 reported $34.3 million in revenue and $34.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.2% of the total. Revenue rose 91% between 2021 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $34M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $34M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
98.2%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
1.8%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.16.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$34M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $34M

At HungerStops, we believe that access to healthy food is a fundamental human right. In 2024, we remained steadfast in our commitment to supporting our neighbors struggling to make ends meet. Through the dedication of our local volunteer network, we successfully distributed over $33 million in fresh groceries and daily-use household essentials directly to those in our community. We are proud to report that, throughout the year, our facility served more than 100,000 individuals and families, ensuring that those facing food insecurity had the nourishment they needed to thrive. Beyond the…

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2021202220232024$34M$34M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$34M$34M100.0%$216K—
2023 ⓘ$24M$24M100.0%$235K—
2022 ⓘ$36M$36M100.0%$535K—
2021 ⓘ$18M$18M99.2%$361K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 650

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Dare 2's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Dare 2, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Dare 2's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Dare 2 reported that 100.0% of its $34.4 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Dare 2 get its money?

Of $34.3 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 98.2% came from contributions and grants and 1.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Dare 2 a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 45-2931795 as a 501(c)(3) organization (church), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202601349349312225 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202411009349300726 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202420849349300207 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202440749349301934 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 45-2931795: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.