Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Tiospa Zina Tribal School

Agency Village, SD · EIN 46-0363648 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 (tax year 2022) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Tiospa Zina Tribal School reported $13.4 million in revenue and $13.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023. Of every $100 it spent, $94.28 went to program services, $5.72 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.5% of the total. Government grants made up 98.4%. Revenue rose 30% between FY2020 and FY2023. Source: Form 990, FY2023.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2023 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2023 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2023Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
98.5%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
98.4%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
9.713.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2023 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$6.4M expenses · 50.2% of program spending · revenue $6.5M

School operations - general education of students and student activities

$1.6M expenses · 12.9% of program spending · revenue $1.6M

Title I - assistance to students requiring additional instruction

$1.1M expenses · 8.7% of program spending · revenue $1.1M

Part b ideia - education of students with disabilities

$3.6M all other programs (line 4d)

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023$13M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2023 ⓘ$13M$14M94.3%$11M—
FY2022 ⓘ$14M$14M93.8%$11M$123,327
FY2021 ⓘ$12M$12M92.5%$11M$5,150
FY2020 ⓘ$10M$10M92.1%$11M$3,050

Governance answers, as filed

FY2023 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5172

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Tiospa Zina Tribal School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Tiospa Zina Tribal School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in South Dakota

Questions people ask

How much of Tiospa Zina Tribal School's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, Tiospa Zina Tribal School reported that 94.3% of its $13.5 million in expenses went to program services, 5.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Tiospa Zina Tribal School get its money?

Of $13.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, 98.5% came from contributions and grants (including 98.4% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Tiospa Zina Tribal School a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-0363648 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202431379349301103 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301299349302120 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211199349300246 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202101449349300100 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-0363648: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.